What Would You Tell Your Grandchildren About Your Childhood?

Yesterday I was a guest on the CTV Morning Live show being interviewed about my book Sixties Girl. I talked about how in my novel, a grandmother tells her grandson stories about her childhood.

The CTV Morning Live program always has a Question of the Day and in recognition of my interview, the question for yesterday was………

My grandparents with their four oldest grandchildren

What stories from your youth would you like to share with your grandchildren? Here is how some viewers answered.

How much I could buy with a dollar.

How we played outside for hours and hours and only went home to eat and get ready for bed.

How I loved getting my first library card.

How I took a trip across Canada with my parents.

How we drank from the garden hose.

How we drove in cars without any seatbelts on.

How we had rotary telephones with curly cords.

How we went to a one-room school and the kids in the older grades helped the kids in the younger grades.

How I went rabbit hunting with my snowshoes.

My husband’s parents with their grandchildren

What would you tell your grandchildren about your childhood?

Other posts………..

My Grandmother’s Childhood

Granny Stories

A Dress From the Catalogue

3 Comments

Filed under MaryLou's Books, Sixties Girl

3 responses to “What Would You Tell Your Grandchildren About Your Childhood?

  1. I’m about to publish my second book-length memoir about growing up in a very small farming community in South Dakota. I was so anxious to get away from it and out into the world, but it prompted such wonderful memories and grist for the writing mill…Congrats on your book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m working on a memoir which my grandchildren will read one day. It’s part of a project a group of us are doing to help (we hope) inspire the next generation of waterfowl biologists and to be published on a website when completed.

    My favourite personal stories centre around our summers growing up at the family cottage we built at Caddy Lake in 1959. We boated in (no road), cooked on a wood stove (no power), used an outdoor biffy and hauled our drinking water from a spring a mile back in the forest (no water service). We lived among wildlife and were surrounded by natural ecosystems. These experiences influenced my future studies, career choices, interests and lifestyle.

    Being a first generation Canadian I wish I had benefitted from the first hand life stories of my own grandparents who I hardly knew before they passed away.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.