11,000 Views for Mother’s Day

A post called What Does Your Mother Do?  featuring an article I wrote for the magazine The Daughters of Sarah in 1988 is the most popular one ever on this blog.  It has been viewed more than 11,000 times since I published it for Mother’s Day in 2012.  

Illustration by Bridget Bernardi age seven for an article I wrote for The Daughters of Sarah magazine

Another popular Mothers Day post has been Mothers at the Met. It includes photographs of paintings and sculptures of mothers which I took when I visited the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

Mother and Child by Mary Cassatt 1899

One year my Mothers Day blog post showcased all the kitschy Mothers Day items I found for sale while I was volunteering at a Thrift Shop.

In 2015 I wrote the post Missing My Mom about how a song called Wanting Memories by Ysaye Barnwell made me think about my own mother on Mothers Day. 

Photographed in 1954 – me and my mother

Last year I wrote about a family visit to Leamington Ontario on Mothers Day. We all gathered at my sister-in-law and brother-in-laws home for a Mothers Day party. We didn’t know it then but that visit to Leamington would be the last time we would see Dave’s father who died on June 6.

Dave takes his Dad for a walk on our Mothers Day visit to Leamington last year.

This year 2017 we are spending Mothers Day in Saskatoon Saskatchewan for the first birthday celebration of our youngest grandson. This morning will also be his child dedication in church.

Happy Mothers Day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Writing

Leave a Reply

