Anne of Green Gables -A Faith Perspective

Anne_of_Green_Gables

“She’s glad to be a Christian and would be one, even if she could get to heaven without it. “  Anne Shirley, the heroine of Canadian author Lucy Maud Montgomery’s book, Anne of Green Gables, speaks those words. If a novel written in 1908 for young girls, isn’t the first place you’d think of looking for theological insights, think again.    

Lucy Maude Montgomery

One summer I made the pilgrimage to Ms Montgomery’s home in Cavendish, Prince Edward Island and learned about the important role religion played in her life. Anne of Green Gables is her most famous story. It is about a young orphan girl who finds a happy home with an elderly woman and her brother.  Its text contains some interesting comments about Christianity 

anne of green gables- questions

Megan Follows played Anne in a 1985 film series

“She’s glad to be a Christian”, is Anne’s remark after being introduced to the wife of her church’s new minister. Anne finds Christians a rather melancholy lot until she meets this cheerful young woman. It’s refreshing for her to encounter someone serious about their faith, who also takes such delight in living, and finds real joy in her relationships with others. Anne believes Jesus was cheerful too.

Anne sees a picture called Christ Blessing Little Children and wishes the artist hadn’t painted Jesus looking so serious. “I don’t believe he looked that sad,” says Anne, “or the children would have been afraid of him.”   Anne envisions Jesus as someone who enjoyed his life and found happiness in his interactions with others. Positive people make the best faith ambassadors.

189-92_anne_of_green_gables-web 

“If I were a man I think I’d be a minister”, Anne declares.  She goes on to say she’d be sure to pick short, snappy texts for her sermons and preach with imaginative creativity.

Lucy Maud Montgomery created her lively red-headed character in the early 1900s when there was no female clergy. How brilliant to use her novel as a way to explore the possibility of women behind the pulpit.

Anne goes on to ask “ Why can’t women be ministers?”  She says if any work needs to be done in the church from fundraising to meal preparation, the ladies of the congregation carry out the task with energy and success. Why couldn’t they preach too?  

Although many denominations have gender equity in their clergy, there are still some churches where female pastors are not welcomed. They might do well to read Anne of Green Gables.                    

“I don’t think it’s fair for the teacher to ask all the questions. There were lots of questions I wanted to ask”. Anne makes this observation after her first experience in a Sunday school class. Churches should be places where people feel comfortable asking lots of questions. Adolescents, in particular, need their curiosity affirmed and their inquiries treated with respect.

anne_green_gables

“If I really wanted to pray, I’d go into a great big field. I’d lie down and look up into that lovely sky, that looks like there’s no end to its’ blueness and then I’d just feel a prayer.” Anne makes that observation when she is trying to think of a way to address God and isn’t sure what to say. 

Maybe we can learn something from Anne, imprisoned as we are, in our offices during the day and at home in front of the television and computer screens at night. If we’re having trouble praying perhaps we need to step outside. 

“Feeling a prayer” might come naturally while smelling the lilacs on a walk, or doing a little star gazing in our backyard on a warm night. One particularly beautiful day Anne says, “The world looks like something God imagined for his own pleasure.” I think God imagined it for our pleasure too.           

Lucy Maud Montgomery is a gifted author whose work contains some perceptive observations about Christianity. I think it’s great that as people around the world read this famous Canadian’s books, they will not only be entertained but will be prompted to think more deeply about religious faith as well. 

7 Comments

Filed under Books, Canada, Childhood, Culture, Education, History, Religion

7 responses to “Anne of Green Gables -A Faith Perspective

  1. I enjoy reading this inspiring article. Thanks. ❤

    Like

  2. Carole Landon

    Thank you for this article. Anne of Green Gables was my favorite book as a child. I read it after a teacher of prompted me to read it because she felt that I was a lot like Anne. Looking back, I can see what she ment. I always had an awareness of God from an early age and later married a preacher, but I never really gave much thought of how those books I read as a child helped to nurture my belief until recently and your article was a real blessing to me. I guess Anne would say it was providence.

    Like

  3. Ruth Tiessen

    Love this post Mary Lou. Beautiful! I think I will have to read Anne of Green Gables again sometime. -Ruth

    Like

  4. Stacey Towns

    Yes! Ive always thought the same thing.

    Like

  5. Jennie Marsland

    Yes, Montgomery used her work to express her unconventional views on Christianity. As a minister’s wife, she had to be careful about stating her opinions directly, but her fiction provided an outlet.
    Anne’s spirituality matures as she does. As a young adult she speaks these moving words to a dying friend: “I think, perhaps, we have very mistaken ideas about heaven — what it is and what it holds for us. I don’t think it can be so very different from life here as most people seem to think. I believe we’ll just go on living, a good deal as we live here — and be OURSELVES just the same — only it will be easier to be good and to — follow the highest. All the hindrances and perplexities will be taken away, and we shall see clearly.” Not an orthodox view for the wife of a Presbyterian minister in the early 20th century, but Montgomery was a very original thinker.

    Like

    • Thanks so much for this additional perspective Jennie. I wrote this post over a decade ago and it is based on a newspaper op ed I did a decade before that. It’s lovely to see this twenty year old piece still resonating with people. Thanks for reading my blog. MaryLou

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.