Wisdom from Dr. Seuss

Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.        Dr. Seuss

I’ve been thinking about that Dr. Seuss quote often during the last while.  I’ve had to say good-bye to many good things in my life. Sometimes it’s hard not to be sad about ‘what was’ but it is important to put that sadness into perspective because our lives change and if we keep being melancholy about what we once had and have lost we sometimes can’t appreciate what we have now.  This post is a personal reminder to not be too sad because some good things are over and no longer part of my life but to smile because I was fortunate enough to have such good things happen to me like………………

Teaching in Hong Kong for six years

Farewell party staged for us by friends when we left Hong Kong

Having a faboulously supportive, affirming and caring mother

With Mom at Christmas a year and a half before she died

Having a rewarding and enriching teaching career

My class of students at Elmdale School in 1982.

Having so many memorable family times at my grandparents’ house in Gnadenthal Manitoba

Playing dress up with my cousins on my grandparents’ farmyard.

Having the opportunity to study and expand my world view exponentially at university.

Having the privilege to parent young children.Having a chance to live on the Hopi Indian Reservation for a year. 

Having such a kind and supportive mother-in-law.

With my mother-in-law Anne on our last visit before she passed away

Having been a columnist for the Winnipeg Free Press. 

Having the chance to explore so much of Asia in our travels. 

On the great wall of China

Don’t cry because its over. Smile because it happened.

Other posts………

Better With Friends

The Station of Tears

Start and End Happy

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a Reply

