The Comfort of A Poem

Today is World Poetry Day and so I offer you a poem from Madeleine L’Engle’s book A Ring of Endless Light.  This poem brought me immense comfort during perhaps the saddest time of my life when I experienced a series of pregnancy losses.  

The earth will never be the same again
Rock, water, tree, iron, share this grief
As distant stars participate in the pain.
A candle snuffed, a falling star or leaf,
……O this particular loss
is Heaven-mourned; for if no angel cried
when this small one was tossed away as dross,
The very galaxies would have lied.
How shall we sing our love’s song now
In this strange land where all are born to die?
Each tree and leaf and star show how
The universe is part of this one cry,
Every life is noted and is cherished,
and nothing loved is ever lost or perished.

What poems have made a difference in your life? 

each tree and leaf and star……….

Other posts……

The Poetry of Boxing

Fifteen Dogs and Writing Poetry

Dancing in Shangri-La

3 Comments

Filed under Poetry

3 responses to “The Comfort of A Poem

  1. PPenner

    What a beautiful poem. I can see where this poem would have spoken to those circumstances. Thank you for sharing it. You are very brave to be so vulnerable with your readership. It makes me appreciate your blog even more.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Ruth Goudreau

    My thoughts and sentiments are exactly captured by PPenner. Thanks for sharing of such painful times in your live.
    I guess, in answer to your question at the end, I would have to say the poem Footprints and also The Serenity Prayer. Both have carried me through many and varied crisis.

Leave a Reply

