Christmas Question #4- The Circle of Life

How will this Christmas be different than last Christmas?  That was one of the questions in a Christmas game I put together for a recent party. Here’s my answer. 

Our son's first Christmas. He is sitting with my father-in-law- his Opa.

Our older son’s first Christmas. He is sitting with my father-in-law, his Opa.

This Christmas will be different than last Christmas because my father-in-law died in June so for the first time we will celebrate Christmas without him. Dad especially loved to sing carols and his deep bass voice will always be missed in our family choir.

Our new grandson's stocking is ready for his first Christmas.

Our new grandson’s stocking is ready for his first Christmas.

This Christmas will be different than last Christmas because our second grandson was born in May so for the first time we will celebrate Christmas with him. A friend helped me make his Christmas stocking and it is already hanging with the rest of the family’s stockings.

I will be thinking about the circle of life at our Christmas celebrations this year.

Other posts…….

Christmas Question #1- A Christmas Carol Saved Our Lives

Christmas Question #2- Chili Soup

Christmas Question #3- Beer and Pretzels

Questions at the Vatican

I Wish I Hadn’t Answered the Question

1 Comment

Filed under Holidays

One response to “Christmas Question #4- The Circle of Life

  1. PPenner

    Good morning Marylou,

    I love the new Christmas stocking! Did you follow a pattern or was that a kit? I want to make new stockings for all my grandchildren this winter. Though sewing skills are basic, I think I can manage this.

    I am being the scrooge this year. No tree for us. I hate putting it up alone. It was fun when the kids were home and it was an event. Christmas carols, baking, reminiscing about ornaments, etc. But now it is me hauling up boxes from the crawl space and setting it up alone. The kids not even coming home in the month of December because we celebrate as a family by going to a chalet in the Whiteshell. Taking it down is even more miserable. So, my nod towards Christmas is a huge poinsetta from Costco, a cherry red bird nestled in the birch stems by the front door and a freezer full of calories, enough to sustain us till spring break.

    What Christmas is heralding is time spent in the city so our children can have daily access to Nana and Papa. How are your travel plans coming along? I feel like we are getting the greater benefit of this arrangement. Would you be able to give us an approximate date of departure so I can make the necessary changes in local appts?

    I wish you a very Merry Christmas!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

