Music to Soothe the Soul

choir-programI always appreciate the Garden City Collegiate choir programs but the one on Thursday night was especially fine. So many of the song lyrics evoked a real sense of peace. Seeing all those beautiful young people enjoying their chance to sing and hearing them perform pieces of music with such meaningful texts was very inspiring. 

garden-city-choirThe lyrics of Eleanor Daley’s beautiful piece In Remembrance reminded me how blessed I am to be surrounded by people who love me and whom I love. It also made me think about how their influence can continue on in my life even after death. 

Do not stand at my grave and weep.
I am not there, I do not sleep
I am the thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glint on snow.
I am the sunlight-ripened grain,
I am the gentle morning rain.

And when you wake in the morning’s hush,
I am the sweet uplifting rush of quiet birds in circled flight.

I am the soft stars that shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there, I did not die.

garden city choirThe lyrics of the piece Ubi Caritas by Ola Gjeilo reminded me that wherever and whenever people show love and care for one another God is present. 

Listening to the voices of three talented soloists soar on The Storm is Passing Over by C.A. Tindley was inspiring.  The words of this song evoke such a sense of hope. 

Courage, my soul, and let us journey on,
Tho’ the night is dark, it won’t be very long.
Thanks be to God, the morning light appears,
And the storm is passing over, Hallelujah!

choir-from-garden-cityI had to look up the lyrics to O Lux Beatissima. At the concert I just closed my eyes and reveled in the lovely sound of the music. Knowing the English translation of the words made the song even more meaningful. 

O light most blessed,

Fill the inmost heart
Of all thy faithful


Enkindle your light in our minds

Infuse your love into our hearts

img_3981My  gifted daughter-in-law is one of the teachers at Garden City and marveling at the beautiful sounds she and her colleagues elicted from hundreds of talented young people added to my sense of enjoyment and peace at the concert.  It was a great way to begin advent. 

Other posts………..

That’s How Light Gets In

How Diverse!

Flunky Jim and Gopher Tails with Grandpa

 

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “Music to Soothe the Soul

  1. Marie

    Sounds lovely, wish I had been there!

Leave a Reply

