A Little Light

I read a Facebook post this morning expressing the fear and anxiety that many Canadians feel about the American election today. The post was written by Kyle, a Mennonite pastor and the son of good friends of ours. I know I have felt the fear Kyle writes about. It has weighed on me for months now as I follow almost obsessively the coverage of the campaign. As a grandmother in particular my heart is troubled as I contemplate the future of the world my grandchildren will inherit, and as I imagine how the campaign appeals we’ve heard to hate and violence, sexism, racism, homophobia, and misogyny must influence and affect so many people, especially children.

Kyle suggests we remember Jesus’ command to love our neighbour and the Psalmist’s call to tremble but not fear. He says he is lighting a candle this morning as he prays for safety, grace and peace for everyone. The light of the candle will serve as a reminder that we need to be the change we want to see in the world.

moms-candleI have lit a candle too.  It is a candle my thoughtful friend Sue gave me when my mother died more than three years ago. I’ve only lit it once before but I think today is a good day to light it again.  My Mom was a person with an open heart and a peaceful spirit who brought much beauty, light and goodness to those whose lives she touched. I pray for peace, beauty, light and goodness for our world today.

Other posts……

And That Led Me

A Religious Opinion 

You Never Say Good-bye

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Reflections, Religion

2 responses to “A Little Light

  1. Pingback: Things That Were a Balm to My Soul Yesterday | What Next?

  2. I’m with you Elsie. I have a ritual of lighting a candle every evening at bedtime……hope against darkness. I fear dark days ahead and like you, my fear is for my children and grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

