Thinking About Work On the Day After Labor Day

My son's band performing to a full house in Toronto

My son’s band performing to a full house in Toronto

The only way to do great work is to love what you do. – Steve Jobs

english department ics

My colleagues in the English department of the highschool where I taught in Hong Kong

Motivation comes from working on things we care about….with people we care about. 
― Sheryl Sandberg

My Dad putting in the dock at our family cottage at Moose Lake

My Dad putting in the dock at our family cottage at Moose Lake

We often miss opportunity because it’s dressed in overalls and looks like work
― Thomas A. Edison

singapore scultpure coolies takea break

My husband with a sculpture called Coolies Take A Break in Singapore

Almost everything will work again if you unplug it for a few minutes, including you.       -Anne Lamont

With one of my students at the tutoring centre where we worked in Jamaica

With one of my students from the tutoring centre in Jamaica

If women are expected to do the same work as men, we must teach them the same things.
― Plato, The Republic

My daughter-in-law with her patients in South Africa

My daughter-in-law with her patients in South Africa

Far and away the best prize that life offers is the chance to work hard at work worth doing. 
― Theodore Roosevelt

Regional Champs

My son with the highschool basketball team he coached

Whatever your life’s work do it well. -Martin Luther King

My daughter-in-law conducting her boys choir

My daughter-in-law conducting her boys’ choir

Let what you love be what you do.  – Rumi

My father-in-law tending his greenhouse plants

My father-in-law tending his greenhouse plants

Without work nothing prospers. – Sophocles

Other posts……

The Pool of Bethesda

Housework

Visiting a Teacher in Borneo

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a Reply

