Happy to Pay Taxes For This

On Monday Dave and I went on a twenty kilometre  bike ride.  On our journey we drove through Kildonan Park. It was a hot day and the pool in the park was crowded with kids.  I stopped to take a photo because it made me happy to see all those kids outside being active and having fun together.  I was glad my tax dollars were paying for that opportunity.  

kildonan park poolAs I give tours to kids at the art gallery this summer I have come to realize just how many great programs are in place to help families get their children involved in worthwhile healthy activities during the months they aren’t in school.  Many tour groups come to the gallery from schools, community clubs and government sponsored programs across the city that offer fun and educational activities in summer to kids for free or at a very nominal fee.  I am glad my tax dollars are paying for this too.

If we want a healthy society we need to have  future generations of citizens who are happy, active, curious, educated and hopeful. I am glad my tax dollars are helping to subsidize programs and places that try to encourage those things in kids all year long. 

Other posts…….

I’m Glad My Taxes Are Paying For This

I Don’t Want a Tax Break

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Childhood, Education

Leave a Reply

