Seeing the Queen

queen elizabeth public domainAll the publicity about the Queen’s birthday this week reminded me of the time I saw her as a little girl.  Queen Elizabeth was visiting Winnipeg in July of 1959. She drove through the city in a motorcade.
I was five years old and my Dad was a medical intern at the St. Boniface Hospital. Queen Elizabeth’s motorcade was going to go right near the hospital. The streets were lined with people and it would have been hard for a little girl like me to see with such a crowd all around. So my Dad took me up on the roof of the hospital and from there I had a great birds-eye view of the Queen as she drove by waving her hand.

Other posts……..

The Queen Who Couldn’t Bake Gingerbread

Marrying an Heiress- Gilded Prostitution

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Childhood, History

Leave a Reply

