Is There Such A Thing As Too Much Christmas Music?

The last two weeks I’ve heard a whole lot of Christmas music.high school christmas choir It all started with a delightful holiday concert by the students of the high school where my daughter-in-law is a choral director. forks violins christmasThe next day I was off to the Forks where my son and his wife supported a group of budding fiddlers playing Christmas favorites. christmas faith and life male choirThen on Saturday I was at First Mennonite Church where my husband Dave was performing in a holiday choral concert called Hosanna with the Faith and Life Male Choir. winnipeg singers christmasSunday night found me at the Fort Rouge United Church listening to my talented daughter-in-law perform with the Winnipeg Singers in their concert The Trumpet Shall Sound with special guests The Northern Brass. winnipeg symphony steinbachTuesday we drove out to listen to the Holiday Tour concert put on by the Winnipeg Symphony at Steinbach Mennonite Church.  We were at the concert along with four other couples who’ve been our friends for decades and after the concert we enjoyed a great time of visiting at one of their Steinbach homes. boys choir christmasNorthern Lights was a concert by the Pembina Trails Children’s Choirs. My daughter-in-law conducts the angelic voices of their boys choir. winnipeg philharmonic choirSunday afternoon my dear group of friends the T-4s who I meet with every month, had been gifted tickets to hear the Winnipeg Philharmonic Choir at Westminster United Church perform Christmas with the Phil. 

men of songSunday night I was at Bethel Church where another choir my husband Dave sings in called Men of Song performed their concert Song of the Angels. Dave was the hit of the evening with his harmonica accompaniment on the piece O Beautiful Star. 

That’s eight Christmas concerts and I’m thinking it just might be enough for this Christmas season.  My favourite? The short video my son sent us from Saskatoon of my grandson performing a song and dance at the concert at his school.  Wish I could have been there to see that one in person.

Other posts……..

And So This is Christmas

They Never Made It to the Manger

I’m Getting Crafty for Christmas

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays, Music

Leave a Reply

