Popping in and Out of Schools

children's artBy the end of this week I will have made 32 visits to school classrooms in my neighborhood. I’m doing observations and meeting with the eight education students I supervise for the University of Winnipeg.  For the last month I’ve been popping in and out of three different schools where my students are working in classrooms. I get to see so many interesting things happening.
school yard artFirst thing in the morning I might be watching grade fives make paper mâché planets or going along on a walk with grade ones to find different circles, triangles and rectangles in their school building. After lunch I could be learning how to do cartwheels or listening to a group of junior highs discuss how they would define feminism .
children's art 2I’ve seen lessons on learning basketball skills, lessons on giving fractions common denominators and lessons on the problem of child labor.
paper and cardboard mooseI’ve watched kids go on an imaginary trip to the zoo with their gym teacher stopping to imitate all the different animals they see. I’ve seen kids writing letters to their parents to tell them about an upcoming class trip to the Manitoba Museum. I’ve had children show me the giant moose they made with their art teacher out of paper and cardboard.

aboriginal valuesI’ve listened to kids give presentations on the rotation and revolution of the earth and moon using models they’ve made. I’ve listened to kids discussing a movie they’ve watched about Nobel prize winner Malala Yousafzai. I’ve listened to kids read journal entries they’ve written about making decisions that will lead to healthy living.   

welcome to our school different languagesNow I need to get ready for the day. I’m off to see kids write limerick poems, learn about the Holocaust and make posters to classify animals into different groups.  The past month has been a whirlwind of popping in and out of schools and I will breathe a sigh of relief when I write the last of my 32 reports and hand the final ones in to the university on Friday. But it sure has been fun and I’ve learned so many things. 

school front artNote: The art in this post was all photographed at the different schools I visit.

Other posts……..

Learning Cool Things

Oh the Things You Learn

The Fab Four Learning More

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, Winnipeg

Leave a Reply

