Food Links

bon appetemtWhat food is associated with different people in your life?  Bon Appetempt A Coming of Age Story by Amelia Morris is a memoir/food book I read not long ago. Each chapter of Amelia’s life and the important people in it are somehow linked to certain foods. Morris’ book got me thinking about what foods might have connections with my family members. 

My Grandma and Grandpa Peters

My Grandma and Grandpa Peters

My one grandma made wonderful chicken noodle soup. She prepared everything from scratch. Caught, killed and cooked the chicken, cut the noodles from dough she made, added her own special spices to the broth.  I remember she brought me a jar of her chicken noodle soup when she came to visit me after I had given birth to her first  great- grandson. My younger son was so enamored with his great grandmother’s soup when he was six he wrote and illustrated a story about how she made her soup.

My mother-in-law and father-in-law

My mother-in-law and father-in-law

My husband’s mother made the best beef roasts I’ve ever tasted. She also baked excellent zwiebach (a Mennonite bun that is really two buns in one) and her grandchildren loved her homemade donuts.  My older son once wrote a book in school about all the things he loved in the world and on the last page he wrote “but most of all I love my Oma’s homemade donuts.” 

Dave making tortillas in our home on the Hopi Indian Reservation in 1990

Dave making tortillas in our home on the Hopi Indian Reservation in 1990

My husband Dave is very talented in the kitchen.  He makes a great Pad Thai,  a good taco casserole and is famous for his chili.

joel barbequesMy son has made us many wonderful meals but he is an especially gifted barbeque chef. Whether he’s grilling salmon, steaks or farmer’s sausage the results are sure to be delicious.

My Mom baking bread with my school class

My Mom baking bread with my school class

My mother was an excellent cook. Every year she would come to my school class to bake bread with my students and in December she came and helped them each make a bag full of peffernussen ( a German Christmas cookie) to take home to their families. Mom also baked and decorated beautiful birthday cakes, made delicious buns and great chocolate chip and white cookies with raisins inside. 

I could go on and on because I have so many friends and family members that are excellent cooks. Many important times in my life are associated with meals and the memorable people who prepared them and shared them with me. 

Other posts…….

What Presentation

A Memorable Meal

Bronuts

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Food

One response to “Food Links

  1. Christine Hanlon

    Judith Smucker suggested that I look at your blog and she was right! What a rich collection of stories! As part of a book I am writing about the Manitoba’s early inhabitants and the food they prepared, I would like to include Mennonite recipes that have been passed down from the Mennonite settlers who came to Manitoba in the late 1880s and early 1900s. Each recipe will be prefaced by a related anecdote. Yesterday, I was at the Mennonite Heritage Centre on Grant and the archivist told me that women made chicken noodle soup for the mother when a child was born. Then today I came across your story about the same thing! I’d love to use your anecdote but need a few more details. Can we connect? I am available via email any time at chanlon@mts.net or by phone at 204-985-9711 (during the day), 204-256-3488 (at home in the evenings) or 204-612-6477 (cellular). Looking forward to hearing back from you very soon.

    Christine Hanlon

Leave a Reply

