A Prince of a Guy

Saturday afternoon a guy named Gary became my knight in shining armour.  Everytime I tried to go onto any website a huge red square covered my lap top screen with a warning my computer had been compromised!  Then a long message would pop up announcing someone had access to my e-mail account, my Facebook page, possibly my credit card numbers and contact information. They suggested any unsaved data I had on my computer could be corrupted and might disappear. I was given a number to call for HELP.  I PANICKED!  I had been working on a writing assignment I hadn’t backed up.  Not smart! But I might have lost  forty hours worth  of work.

I decided not to call the number on the screen but rather called the Apple Support hotline.  What a good decision!  I was connected to a guy named Gary who literally had the patience of Job.  He spent such a long time talking me through all the steps I needed to take to get rid of the ad ware which Gary said had probably piggybacked its way onto my computer when I downloaded something innocent looking.  He said the ‘pirates’ were hoping I’d call their HELP number and then they’d charge me hundreds of dollars to disable something THEY had put on my computer.

Gary on the other hand charged me nothing and whenever I got flustered he patiently kept giving me instructions and alternatives in his calm, even voice.  He called me MaryLou or ‘Ma’am’ and kept reassuring me that we’d solve my problem AND WE DID!!

I was so happy not to have lost my work and be rid of that horrible warning message I started to cry. “Now Ma’am. No need for that.” Gary reassured me.  I thanked him profusely but he insisted he had only been doing his job. I wished him a Happy Easter and thanked him once again.

What great service!!!  And people wonder why I’m devoted to Apple products?  It’s because of people like Gary.  A prince of a guy!

Other posts……

So Polite

A Simple Thank You Makes My Day

The Salmon Saved Him

1 Comment

Filed under People

One response to “A Prince of a Guy

  1. gabe

    I had an apple security issue last August and had incredible support…even as they passed the issue up the ladder. They were patient and kind and human, too!

Leave a Reply

