One of My Photos is in a Book of Saints

I’ve decided this blog is my hobby.  Some people knit, golf, do crossword puzzles or make pottery.  I write blog posts.  There are many rewarding things about my hobby. I learn about new things. I reflect on new experiences. I make connections with new people. 

That happened again recently when I connected with Mike McKnight. Mike is a publisher in England.  

He is working together with Leo Osborn the Chair of the Newcastle Methodist District to produce a book about some of the saints who have had an impact on Mr. Osborn’s life.  One of the people Mr. Osborn has written about is Takashi Nagai. 

mother teresa solanus casey centerWhen I was in Detroit last year I visited the Solanus Casey Center on a cycling tour and saw the bronze statues that are said to be the human representations of each of the eight beatitudes. The statue for blessed are the meek is of Takashi Nagai.

He was a Japanese doctor who lost his wife and was injured during the bombing of Nagasaki. He cared tirelessly for other victims and worked towards forgiveness and reconciliation. He established a prayer house, wrote a book and planted thousands of cherry trees to help reclaim the devastated landscape.

Takashi Nagai

Takashi Nagai

I took a photo of the Nagai statue in Detroit and published it on my blog.  Mike McKnight wondered if they might have permission to use it as an illustration in Mr. Osborn’s book.  The book is Mr. Osborn’s retirement gift to the Newcastle District and the profits from its sale are being donated to charity.

I was more than happy to help Mr. Osborn and Mr. McKnight with their project and was honored they wanted to include my photo.

My connection with Mr. Osborn’s project is an example of how my blog has connected me with new people and allowed me to share my photos and stories with a wider audience.  Blogging is an interesting and rewarding hobby for me. 

Other posts………

The Beatitudes Come to Life

The Lady From Saskatchewan, the British Dentist and Me

What Are People Saying?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Books, England, People, Religion, Writing

Leave a Reply

