Carrot Soup with Almonds

I’m ready to admit that those weekly recipes I was going to blog about have more realistically become monthly recipes. I was inspired this time by three half empty bags of baby carrots and the partial remains of four different onions in my fridge. Both the carrots and onions were on their last leg, looking kind of wilty. 

I fried up the onions with a few cloves of chopped garlic and a couple of  snipped up jalapeno pepper pieces. 

Next I dumped the onions and all the carrots into my Ninja blender

This big bag of almonds my husband bought at Costco was on the counter so I threw in a couple handfuls. 

Turned on the Ninja. 

Everything went into a pot along with a box of chicken broth, salt, pepper and a little ginger. 

I heated it to boiling. 

Then I used the new hand-held blender my kids gave me for Christmas to do a final puree. 

Served it with a dollop of sour cream and a dash of cinnamon. 

Other recipes……..

Lasagna Soup

Fennel Salad

Lemon Meringue Tea Cakes

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

