Inspired By Linda- Lasagna Soup

Linda and me on a hike in Arizona last year

Linda and me on a hike in Arizona last year

My sister-in-law Linda is a terrific cook and every week she posts all these wonderful recipes on Facebook.  I always look at them and think, “I need to try that.”  But of course I never do.  Linda runs her own restaurant and is famous for her skill in the kitchen.  One of my retirement goals was to become a better cook and so far I’ve done nothing to achieve that goal. I’ve decided one way to keep myself accountable is by trying one of Linda’s recipes every week and posting my results here on the blog. After using the first recipe I’ve realized I’ll probably need to do plenty of adapting because of what I’m capable of doing and what’s in my kitchen. So if you try one of these recipes and it doesn’t turn out it’s probably my fault. Here’s my first attempt Lasagna Soup. 

Chop up about a third of a big onion.  Put it in your crock pot. 

Add a jar of spaghetti sauce.

And a can of tomatoes.

There was about a cup of white wine still in a bottle on the counter so I put that in too. Sprinkle in some parsley, basil, garlic salt and oregano. 

Add two cups salsa.

Two chicken and two beef bouillon cubes and four cups of water go in next. 

Break up eight lasagna noodles into small pieces and add them to the crock pot. 

Crumble up a pound of extra lean hamburger and place on top. 

Cook on low for seven hours.A half hour before serving add a cup of fat free cottage cheese and a cup of crumbled light feta cheese. 

Just before serving sprinkle with grated Tex Mex cheese. I served it with a corn, avocado and cherry tomato salad. 

Other posts about food………

Super Foods. What Are They? 

A Kiwi A Day

Who Knew About Fennel?

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

