Maybe An Iguana Ate My Golf Ball

dave golf cancunWe went golfing a number of times in Cancun. You see iguanas everywhere on the golf courses here. iguana mexicoDave did a little research on the internet after our first round of golf in Mexico and found out that iguanas have about a hundred very sharp serrated teeth and powerful jaws. If they bite you stitches will probably be required. 

iguana cancunDuring one of our golf games an iguana was sitting on the edge of a green and in order to chip my ball onto the green I needed to get it over the iguana’s head since he was right in the path where my ball needed to go.  Just as I drew back my club to hit the ball the iguana flicked its tongue at me and disappeared down a drainage hole.

iguana mexicoMy ball bounced on the grass near the green and don’t you think it too disappeared down the drainage hole.  Did I stick my hand down the drainage hole to find my ball?  NO WAY! What if the iguana was waiting to bite my hand?  What if my golf ball had hit him and he was mad?  

I would never have suspected that the iguana might have tried to eat my golf ball till Dave showed me a video from Sunday’s 2014 Puerto Rico Open showing an iguana trying to do exactly that.  Check it out here. 

Did the iguana eat my golf ball? I don’t know and I’m glad I didn’t try to find out! 

Other posts about golf……..

You Wouldn’t Believe What You Can See on a Golf Course in Mexico

Arizona Golf Reunion

Meeting the Parents of Jamaica’s Next PGA Golfer

Leave a comment

Filed under Nature, Sports

Leave a Reply

