Thanks to the Winnipeg Art Gallery I’m in the Newsletter of the Pre-Raphaelite Art Society

Thanks to the recent  100 Masters Show at the Winnipeg Art Gallery I’ve been published in the newsletter of the American Pre-Raphaelite Art Society. I’ll admit it. I didn’t know what pre-Raphaelite art was till I got a letter from Tim McGee, the newsletter editor.   He wanted to reprint a blog post I’d written about Edward Bourne Jones’ portrait of Caroline Fitzgerald. I fell in love with Caroline’s portrait during the 100 Masters Show held in celebration of the Winnipeg Art Gallery’s 100th birthday. I decided to do some research to find out more about Caroline and I discovered lots of interesting things about her life which I included in my blog post called  Marrying an Heiress- Gilded Prostitution.   I was curious why the Pre-Raphaelite Society was  printing my piece about Caroline. What exactly was the pre-raphaelite movement all about?

I discovered they were a group of artists and poets founded in 1849.Their main objective was to reject the dramatic, artificial  painting styles succeeding Raphael and Michelangelo and create more genuine, humble representations of their subjects. They painted brightly-colored, evenly-lit scenes with a particular emphasis on romanticism, elaborate detail, medieval history, symbolism, and nature.

Some of the  well-known artists who participated in the Pre-Raphaelite movement were Rossetti, Holman Hunt, Millais, Morris and Edward Bourne Jones.  There is a flourishing international society which studies and promotes the work of the Pre-Raphaelite artists. They host lectures and publish a magazine called The Review three times a year and their American branch has a newsletter all its own. 

My story about Caroline Fitzgerald is on page three of the current American newsletter. You can read it on the articles page of my website. 

Other posts about the 100 Masters……….

Recognize this Raven

Recognize this Reid

Recognize this Rembrandt

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Culture, Winnipeg, Writing

2 responses to “Thanks to the Winnipeg Art Gallery I’m in the Newsletter of the Pre-Raphaelite Art Society

  1. Perry Nodelman

    There was a fantastic Pre-Raphaelite show at the Tate Britain that we saw a little over a year ago, and I have a catologue that you can borrow, if you’d like, after you get back to Winnipeg. In my earlier life as a Victorian lit scholar, I spent a lot of time looking at Rossettis and Burne-Joneses, and being amazed by the astonishing necks all the women have.

    • Dear Perry,
      I’d love to see that catalogue. Never even checked out Caroline Fitzgerald’s neck till you mentioned it. Looking forward to hearing about your Berlin adventures. See you in March. MaryLou

Leave a Reply

