Mourning Maeve

The internet is full of tributes to Irish author Maeve Binchy  who has died at age 72,  but I need to add one.  I so enjoyed her books! I suspect I’ve read Glass Lake at least six times, maybe more, and I was delighted to learn she has written one more book, A Week in Winter which will be published posthumously.

I liked Maeve because she wrote in a descriptive easy way that made you feel like you could walk into one of the places in her books and not get lost because you’d lived there too. You would be able to stroll down the street in one of the villages where her novels were set and see people and recognize them instantly because of the way she had described them. 

There are no steamy sex scenes in Maeve’s books but she does write realistically and honestly about relationships and all their pitfalls and problems. Maeve’s books are always hopeful and when I was tired of the depressing lives and tortured souls in many modern novels a dose of Maeve would do wonders to rekindle my faith in humanity. 

I’ve listened to several interviews with Maeve and I love the fact she was such a down to earth and happy person. Her philosophy of life was “you play the hand you’re dealt” and she was convinced anyone can be happy if they are determined to have a “glass half full rather than half empty” approach. While other writers mourned their dysfunctional childhoods she maintained hers had been happy.  She strongly believed, “You make your own happiness.” 

I will savor Maeve’s last book when it is published.  I’m glad  I own most of her novels and will be able to reread them. She provided me with so many hours of reading pleasure.  I can only hope to live my life with as upbeat an attitude as she brought to hers. Here’s to Maeve and the positive and happy spirit she shared with her millions of readers. 

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Mourning Maeve

  1. Nettie

    I too have enjoyed Binchey’s books and found Scarlet Feather (set in Ireland) especially great after having visited Ireland in 2000. I recently picked up a hard copy of Light a Penny Candle (1982) and The Lilac Bus (1984) at the Children’s Hospital book sale (2 books in one) . When I heard she has passed away I was determined to read those 2 yet this summer and remember her captivating and “easy read” style.

Leave a Reply

