Pet Peeves and Praises

pet peeve ……..a minor annoyance that an individual identifies as particularly irritating to him or her, to a greater degree than others may find it.

1) people who throw their cigarette butts on the ground and don’t put them in the trash–I see these outside almost every building in downtown Winnipeg

2) those advertising insert cards they put in magazines

3) getting to the gym and realizing I’ve left my membership card at home

4) people who put their dirty dishes in the sink instead of the dishwasher

5) people who take up part of two parking spots because they haven’t taken the time to park properly

6) people who have to use a swear word in nearly every sentence

7) customer service workers who act like the last thing they want to be doing is serving you

8) the rising cost of books on Kindle

9) people on your Facebook page who constantly invite you to play Lucky Slots or Five-O Poker  with them

10) reality tv shows

pet praises- a minor event  that an individual identifies as particularly pleasing to him or her, to a greater degree than others may find it.

1) all the people in my building who voluntarily use the recycling bins

2) customer service workers who smile and take a personal interest in you

3) the opportunity Facebook provides to have impromptu chats with my nieces and nephews and former students

4) my close proximity to the Winnipeg Public Library and all the friendly people who help me there when I’m looking for something

5) Modern Family and The Good Wife- the two best shows on TV although Rick Mercer is a close third

6) the wonderfully diverse staff employed by the YMCA where I work out, the nicest gym I’ve ever belonged to

7) the many polite fellow pedestrians in the Winnipeg Square underground walkway who hold open doors for the people coming behind them

8) finally getting the hang of text messaging and using it to stay in touch with my family

9) discovering yet another great restaurant in my neighborhood

10) The 25o or so people a day who take the time to read my blog

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections

Leave a Reply

