The Hopi Reservation

We had hoped to spend part of Sunday on the Hopi Reserve. However Dave read that a snowstorm was on the way, preceded by freezing rain and he figured we should drive out ahead of it

 So instead of attending Oraibi Mennonite Church which since we lived on the reservation has changed its name to Kykostmovi Mennonite Church…….
I had to content myself with just taking a few photos of the church. It’s exterior is completely changed since we attended the church twenty years ago. It would be interesting to see what it looks like inside. Talking with Becca at Hopi Mission School yesterday it seems most teachers now attend church elsewhere on the reservation. When we were there most of us went to Oraibi Mennonite.

I took a picture of the Hopi Court House because I once visited it with my Hopi Mission students on a field trip. The Hopis have their own court to deal with civil and criminal offenses that arise on the reservation if the defendants are Hopi. They deal with anyone who violates Hopi tribal law. There is also a jail at the court-house. I remember how impressed my students were to see the jail cell. 

I took a picture of this house because if you look carefully on the right you can see a basketball hoop. Driving through the reservation it is surprising how many houses have hoops. When we lived on the reservation our students were passionate about basketball. Some people said that Hopi kids sleep with a basketball in their cribs. Our youngest son who was four years old and in the Hopi Head Start program played basketball with his classmates. They even played a mini game at half time during a high school game.

This isn’t a great picture of Corn Rock. I took it from far away. At home I have some great photos I took in 1990 right in front of the rock with the sun setting on it. I was told when we lived on the reservation that the Hopis believe when Corn Rock splits in two the world will end

When we lived on the reservation we were often invited to our students’ homes for meals and celebrations. 

Family celebrations like baby namings took place in people’s homes and yards.
Dances took place in the village square in the old villages on top of the mesas. Many families maintained houses in the old villages at the top of the mesas where they went for dances and holidays but in addition they had more modern homes in the newer villages at the base of the mesa.

 What next? I was sorry our visit to the Hopi Reservation was so short. I’d like to go back someday with our whole family and try to contact some of our former students. Who knows? Maybe Dave and I can do some volunteer work at Hopi Mission again sometime in the future.

When I get back to Manitoba I want to get out my photos from our time on the reservation and perhaps do a few posts about our experience living there twenty years ago. 

1 Comment

Filed under Arizona, Culture, Travel

One response to “The Hopi Reservation

  1. Bog

    Very interesting. I have just begun to study te Hopi people

Leave a Reply

